Together with national and international societies, the platform supports the exchange of expertise and promotes young academics in the various fields of chemistry.more

Image: Cavan Images, stock.adobe.commore

Chemistry Travel Award 2021

Chemistry Travel Award 2021 - Annoucement
Chemistry Travel Award 2021 - Annoucement

Special Edition for the Chemistry Travel Award 2021:

Conference or Lab visit !

Due to the pandemic, many conferences have been cancelled, postponed or switch to an online event. The board of the PF Chemistry and the Swiss Chemical Society discussed together to offer the PhD students another option for the year 2021. Instead of having only the classic awards to go to an international conference, an additional option to visit a forign lab has been offered.

FAQ Travel Award 2021
FAQ Travel Award 2021 - Special Covid-19

Congratulations to the winners of the Chemistry Travel Award 2021!

Conference participation:

Alexandre ANTHIS
Group: Prof. Inge Herrmann
Conference: Materials Research Society (MRS) - Fall Meeting 2021
Contribution: Leak-tight anastomosis hydrogel sealants using mutually interpenetrating networks.

Maximilian BECKER
Group: Prof. Corsin Battaglia
Conference: 240th ECS Meeting
Contribution: The Hydrotropic Effect of Ionic Liquids in Water-in-Salt Electrolytes.

Group: Prof. Arianna Marchioro
Conference: Electrochemistry Gordon Research Conference and Seminar
Contribution: Ion specificity at the aqueous electrolyte/nanoparticle interface.

Michèle CLERC
Group: Dr. Luciano Boesel
Conference: Macromolecular Colloquium 2022
Contribution: Visible-light responsive on-demand drug-delivery systems using Donor-Acceptor Stenhouse Adduct (DASA) photoswitches.

Group: Prof. Ilija Čorić
Conference: International Symposium on Synthesis and Catalysis 2021 (ISySyCat2021)
Contribution: Spatial Anion Control on Palladium for Mild C-H Arylation of Arenes.

Group: Prof. Pablo Rivera-Fuentes
Conference: Pacifichem 2021
Contribution: Single-Molecule Imaging with Environment-Sensitive Photoactivatable Probes.

Qinlei LIU
Group: Prof. Renato Zenobi
Conference: 69th ASMS Conference on Mass Spectrometry and Allied Topics
Contribution: High-throughput single-cell metabolomics using dielectric barrier discharge ionization – high resolution mass spectrometry.

Viktoriia MORAD
Group: Prof. Maksym Kovalenko
Conference: MRS Fall Meeting & Exhibit
Contribution: Hybrid 0D Antimony Halides as Air-Stable Luminophores for High-Spatial-Resolution Remote Thermography.

J. Madhusudhan NAIK
Group: Prof. Greta R. Patzke
Conference: 2021 MRS Fall Meeting & Exhibit
Contribution: Reversible phase transitions in novel Ce-substituted perovskite oxide composites for solar thermochemical CO2 redox splitting.

Group: Prof. Harm-Anton Klok
Conference: Pacifichem 2021
Contribution: Shining light on surface-initiated organocatalyzed atom transfer radical polymerization.

Group: Prof. Christoph Weder
Conference: ACS Spring Meeting: Bonding Through Chemistry
Contribution: Loop structures as non-covalent mechanochromic motifs.

Lab visit:

Group: Prof. Greta R. Patzke
Host: Prof. Serena DeBeer, Max-Planck Institute for Chemical Energy Conversion, Mülheim, GE
Project: Understanding Hybrid Molecular Photoanodes using Operando X-ray Emission Spectroscopy.

Group: Prof. Christophe Copéret
Host: Prof. Olivier Cador, Uni Rennes, FR
Project: Lanthanide Sandwich Complexes used for Surface Immobilized Single-Molecule Magnets.

Group: Prof. Christophe Copéret
Host: Prof. Atsushi Urakawa, TU Delft, NL
Project: Molecular Approaches for the Study of Bimetallic Catalysts in the Hydrogenation of CO2 to Methanol.

Group: Prof. Alexandre Fürstenberg
Host: Prof. Mike Heilemann, Goethe Uni, Frankfurt a. M., GE
Project: Fluorescence labelling of the G protein-coupled receptor CCR5 for single-molecule applications using CRISPR/Cas12 gene editing technology.

Group: Prof. Helma Wennemers
Host: Prof. Wolfgang Kroutil, Uni of Graz, AT
Project: Development of cascade reactions employing enzyme and peptide catalysts in a single chemical reaction vessel.

Group: Prof. Thomas Bürgi
Host: Prof. Lay-Theng Lee, CEA-Saclay L’Université Paris-Saclay, FR
Project: X-ray reflectivity structural study of gold nanocluster ultrathin films prepared using Langmuir-Blodgett technique.

Group: Prof. Natalie Banerji
Host: Prof. Carlos Silva, Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, USA
Project: Two Dimensional Coherent Photocurrent Spectroscopy of Non-Fullerene Acceptors.

Depending on the state of the pandemic, the attendance of the winners to the conferences may change from this list. The rules regarding these changes have been published on the web page of the Platform Chemistry.

Do not miss the «2022 Chemistry Travel Award», which will be announced early in 2022 on and in Chimia.

Frequently Asked Questions
Please read the FAQ for the 2021 Travel Award edition.

Frequently Asked Questions

Please read the FAQ to see all the conditions if the conference gets cancelled/postponed/online